Highlighted

Prepopulate XML

12-11-2008

Hello,

I would like to use data to prepopulate fields in a form viewed in Workspace. I would also like to use the same data for mapping purposes like sending email, task instructions, etc.

I am using the assign task to view an xfaForm in which I would like to insert data.

I am new to LiveCycle. Can anyone help..... please

Thank you

Replies

Highlighted

pguerett

13-11-2008

Is this the 1st step that starts the process or somewhere in the middle of the process. Are you using a n XDP template to render to the user or a pre-created PDF? Where will this data for pre-population come from? Is it in XML format or are you merely pushing a couple of field values into the data?
Highlighted

13-11-2008

>>Is this the 1st step that starts the process or somewhere in the middle of the process.

This would be the middle of the process as I would like to extract data first.

>>Are you using a n XDP template to render to the user or a pre-created PDF?

I am trying to use the extracted data from an interactive PDF to insert in an XDP and to prepopulate in other tasks (using XPATH) e.g. task instructions, sending email, etc.

>>Where will this data for pre-population come from?

Interactive PDF

>>Is it in XML format or are you merely pushing a couple of field values into the data?

I would like to extract the data a XML format to prepopulate the XDP form.

Thank you for helping.
Highlighted

pguerett

13-11-2008

If you are using an XFAForm Variable to render your form, when the user submits the form back in the data in that form will be pushed into the xfaForm Var. Look under the xfa/datasets/data node. Using XPath expressions you can take all or part of the data out and write the to process variables. You can alos push data back into individual nodes in this variable. Then pass it into the next user step. By doing this Livecycle will merge the data onto the template and render in automatically for you.
Highlighted

13-11-2008