Highlighted

New to LiveCycle need some help. How to....

25-06-2008

I am new to Livecyle but it has been pretty easy to figure out the basics. I have two questions. I am using LiveCycle Designer 8.0.

First:

When I place the "submit by e-mail" button on a form, does it only send back to me as an XML file? If yes, is there a way to change that so it sends as a PDF? If there is no way to change it to an XML file, how and what program do I need to read the XML file?

Second:

If I send a form out to a customer say and want them to keep it and save it for their use, is there a way to do this. Everytime I send it to myself it prompts me that I will be unable to save and can only print the form for personal use.

Replies

Highlighted

26-06-2008

Hi,

First: If you use the submit by email button, only xml is available as a choice. Instead, insert a Button, browse to the Object tab, and you will find the submit tab. Submit to URL: "mailto:" This will open the email application. Here you can set submit as PDF.

The XML file can be read in a standard text editor, or a xml parser.

Second: I believe you can only save the forms using Acrobat. For Acrobat Reader, I think you must enable Reader Extensions to be able to save the form.

I hope this helps you.
Highlighted
Highlighted

03-07-2008

Hi there,

I just wanted to thank you guys because you just answered the problem I'm trying to solve since last week.

I'm in the same position as Greg, I learned the basics for Adobe Designer and was able to do some of what I wanted to, but now my form works perfectly well and I'm able to receive it as a pdf file.

I'll post Daniel's trick in every other forum I went to post my problem!

Thanks again 🙂

Chris
Highlighted

03-07-2008

Hi there,

In regards to your answer to the question about Livecyle: