Expand my Community achievements bar.

Maximum Limits

Former Community Member
Hi there

Does anyone know if it is possible to limit the number of times a Reader Extended PDF form can be "Saved As"?

For example, could you specify during processing that a form could only be "Saved As" five (5) times then the rights are discontinued?

Apologies, I'm not a developer - just doing some research!

Chris
4 Replies

Level 4
Well since Acrobat can do Save As, disabling the ability to save in Reader Extensions will merely stop people without Acrobat from saving as a new file name.

And how do you detect if someone copies a file, then does a save as on the copy, and should this come from the total save as, or are you just trying to restrict the number of save as operations on a certain tree. Does the save operation become disabled when the limit has been reached too?

I would think that in addition to Reader Extensions, you'd need Policy Server/Rights Management ES, as this provides server-side manipulation of permissions after a document is distributed. But I don't think there is a distinction between save and save as operations, all you see in the log is "Modify Document" events whenever someone selects save or save as on a policy protected document (assume they have modify rights to begin with).

I'm sure you could limit the number of Modify Document events for a particular document/user, if that's any use. It would be much easier to achieve with Rights Management ES, but should still be possible in version 7.

Former Community Member
Thanks R

To try & answer some of your questions...

" Well since Acrobat can do Save As, disabling the ability to save in Reader Extensions will merely stop people without Acrobat from saving as a new file name."

That's what I was thinking!

"And how do you detect if someone copies a file, then does a save as on the copy and should this come from the total save as...?"