Expand my Community achievements bar.

MAking text fields required using JavaScript

Former Community Member
I have several radio button groups where, if one of the buttoms is selected, a text box becomes visible. I would like to kame these text boxes required. I am brand new at this and it took me several days to figure out that in order to make the presence = "visible" work I had to save the form as an xdp file. I am way behind on this project. Can anyone tell me how to make these text boxes required?

Thanks!

Nelson
28 Replies

Level 4
What exactly do you mean by required? "Required" usually means that the field must be filled out before the form is submitted, is this what you mean?

Thom Parker

WindJack Solutions

www.windjack.com

Former Community Member
You can make text boxes required by selecting them, going to the Object palette's Value tab and setting the Type property to
User Entered - Required.

Stefan

Adobe Systems

Former Community Member
Thom -

Yes, that's what I mean. I need to do this using JavaScript because unless the appropriate radio button is checked, the fields will not be required.

Thanks!

Nelson

Former Community Member
You can make the fields mandatory using the following javascript:

Textfield1.mandatory = "error";

Textfield1.mandatoryMessage = "This field is required.";

To make the fields optional again

Textfield1.mandatory = "disable";

Note that you will need to change Textfield1 to be the name of the textfield you want to make mandatory.

Denver

Adobe Enterprise Developer Support

Former Community Member