Expand my Community achievements bar.

HTTP Submit & FORM Post

Former Community Member
Where can I find an example of how to submit form data in a format used by HTML forms (URL-encoded Data - HTTP post)?

Im just learning Acrobat 7.xand Form designer 7.x and cant figure out how to attach code to the Submit HTTP button. A client has a generalized forms post decoder/foward as e-mail program. The url would be, for example:

http://www.ourwebsite.org/cgi-win/deField.exe method="POST"

and it needs the Acrobat form to have the hidden field:

femail=bobrast@comcast.net   (email address to send form info to)

What we really want to do is:

1.     Use an interactive Acrobat form to collect and validate data from users over the Internet (by querying a database) as they fill in the form

2.     Merge both user-entered data, and user-specific data pulled from the db, into the pdf form

3.     Returned the completed form to the user for printing at their location,

4.     And capture the full data into our database.

.Ive scoured the product literature and the dev user forums and seen some limited FAQs and advice but its pretty murky. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
4 Replies

Level 7
If it were an Acrobat form, you would simply define an input field

with this name (femail), the e-mail address as default value, and then

make it hidden.

I don't know if this is even possible with Designer forms, though if

it is, I'm sure someone will fill us in. HOWEVER, this will only

solve the first part. If you want to send data back to the form, the

web script will need to be written in a different way, and adapting

the PDF to fit this existing script doesn't have any point.

Aandi Inston

Former Community Member
Thanks,