Expand my Community achievements bar.

Learn about Edge Delivery Services in upcoming GEM session

Dynamically rendering form elements

Former Community Member
I am very new to Adobe LiveCycle Designer and Adobe Form Server.

Is is possible to create form elements dynamically? For example. User

A's has 2 choices , so when the form is rendered for User A, he/she sees

2 checkboxes, whereas User B' has 3 choices, so the form should display

3 choices.

what is the approach generally followed? Any suggestions will be

appreciated.

I am using Adobe Designer version 7.0 for Windows XP and Adobe Form Server 7.0.1 for Sun platform

Thanks
2 Replies

Former Community Member
One approach is to set the presence property.

I do something similar. I have an oracle application that passes an xml stream and the xdp form name to the form server. The form server then renders the pdf. Initialization scripts within the xdp file hide or display subForms which hides/displays pages to the user.

Your initialization javascript might be something like:

if (xfa.record.someItem.value == "Y") {

xfa.form.myDocument.checkBoxSubForm1.presence = "hidden";

xfa.form.myDocument.checkBoxSubForm2.presence = "visible";

} else {

xfa.form.myDocument.checkBoxSubForm1.presence = "visible";

xfa.form.myDocument.checkBoxSubForm2.presence = "hidden";

}

Former Community Member