Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Why do we use servlets in AEM?

Level 2

I am new to AEM. Till now I have been developing web applications using MEAN stack. The view was constructed using Angular, model is MongoDB and Controller part was handled by Node server.

Are servlets in AEM used to implement the controller part of web application? Like the data of a submitted form would be sent to the internal servlet which would communicate with the model to handle the data. If so, then wouldn't it be better to handle the controller logic separately as AEM should be used for the View part? Like writing the controller servlets in java and using some servlet container eg., Jboss and then submitting the form data to this REST endpoint.

Or are servlets only used for any front-end processing that we might require. In Angular this was achieved by the typescript code written in class file of component, a service or a directive (I can think of only these). If so, does this mean that in AEM we cannot write JavaScript or typescript code to be run at certain times and we have to use servlets only?

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Community Advisor

@uroojkhan Ok. I get your point. 

So we handle this in different ways.

1. Since nowadays its all about REST-ful service , if there is a restful POST API to submit the data to DB, we can use it directly in the FE  and call that API using AJAX. You don't have to submit the form to AEM Servlet in that case. 

2. If you have to connect to a third party DB , then you can post this form using AEM Servlets and in the AEM Servlet code , you can write the logic to connect to the DB and POST this information to that. 

View solution in original post

6 Replies

Community Advisor

You can think of Servlets in AEM as API.Its is similar to java servlets.