Expand my Community achievements bar.

Guidelines for the Responsible Use of Generative AI in the Experience Cloud Community.

What's the best way to use custom classes in JSP files

Level 2

Hey there

I'm kinda new to the OSGi development and to get some experience I'm trying to develop a smaller project for our company. Basically it's a form which allows the user to enter the business hours of their location, so I can submit them to a SAP web-service.

I already started developing something, but I'm unsure if I'm doing it in a proper way or if I should try another approach. What confuses me are the OSGi components and when to use a component. Is it considered good behaviour to directly import my custom classes into the JSP (via @page import) or should I put them into a component? The classes I use on my JSP actually don't provide much business logic, they're more sort of a data class.

I've created a JSP called openingtimes_global.jsp which includes my most common classes (like Dealer, Brand and Department) and the localization object. The file looks like this:

<%@include file="/libs/wcm/global.jsp" %> <%@page import="ch.company.webtech.cq.openingtimes.Dealer, ch.company.webtech.cq.openingtimes.Brand, ch.company.webtech.cq.openingtimes.Department, com.day.cq.wcm.api.WCMMode, org.apache.sling.api.resource.ResourceUtil, java.util.Locale, java.util.ResourceBundle, com.day.cq.i18n.I18n"%> <% Locale pageLocale = currentPage.getLanguage(true); ResourceBundle resourceBundle = slingRequest.getResourceBundle(pageLocale); I18n i18n = new I18n(resourceBundle); Dealer dealer = new Dealer(request.getHeader("USERID")); String brandName = ""; String dealerId = dealer.getDealerId(); String departmentName = ""; String id = ""; %>

My body.jsp then includes the global file, so I have access to the initialized dealer object.