Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

What is the best practice when creating a one off custom html section to a page?

Level 2

I'm new to the details of AEM. I work on the Marketing side of our website so I make lots of one off landing pages and campaign Hero Sections that the Authoring WYSIWYG can't handle (I can't seem to do pixel perfect with a WYSIWYG). Is it best to just create a component for the page or section that needs custom HTML, CSS, and JS? Or is there another way that is preferred?  It seems like the components will pile up pretty quickly this way. 

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Community Advisor

You can use embedded core component to copy-paste html but for js and css or you can create similar components to inject HTML/CSS/JS

https://www.aemcomponents.dev/content/core-components-examples/library/page-authoring/embed.html

Arun Patidar

View solution in original post

4 Replies

Correct answer by
Community Advisor

You can use embedded core component to copy-paste html but for js and css or you can create similar components to inject HTML/CSS/JS

https://www.aemcomponents.dev/content/core-components-examples/library/page-authoring/embed.html

Arun Patidar

Employee Advisor

You can always use HTML Markup editor mode in richtext component to paste HTML snippets. The disadvantage is that the edits on it are not a marketer change, but a developer change. But, as said, if they are one-off sections, this should suffice

Level 2

In AEM richtext component, you can add HTML but scripts are not allowed as soon as you save, it will remove script tags. Its due to security rules in CORS configuration that can be update not sure if it will still allow scripting tags though.

embed is an option to be considered if CSS and JS required that are not already part of your component designs.

Community Advisor

@pmueller88,