Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Use adaptTo to transform the Resource to Custom Class

Level 3

Hi, Guys,

I am new to AEM and I am facing a problem about converting Resource to Custom Model.

//--------------------------------------------------

ResourceResolver resourceResolver = request.getResourceResolver();
Resource resource = resourceResolver.getResource(path);

I use the function above to get the Resource, then I use adaptTo to tranform Resource to CustomText Class.

customText = resource.adaptTo(CustomText.class);

But the result is null although I can get very property from getValueMap Method. But I cannot 
convert it to custom class.

For my current task is that:
1. I have Page A contains Component A and Page B contains Component B
2. I want to get the Component B json or Java instance in Page A or Component A to render the Component B
    with Page A together.

It is very appreciated if you guys can help me to solve problem or give me some advice to solve.
Thank you very much.
1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 9

Hi @TrifaCh  

Data sly resource will include the component as a whole. If you want to just read one property from another component in a different page this will not help. 

You can get to that page and iterate over resources and read that property .See a similar snippet in below URL.

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/70384076/how-to-access-the-properties-of-a-component-from-anothe...

View solution in original post

8 Replies

Community Advisor

Hi @TrifaCh, Can you share your CustomText class implementation? It will be easier to understand the issue.

In some cases, the adaptTo() method might return null due to various reasons, which include:

• make sure adapters (CustomText) utilize the @Model annotation as with the parameter adaptables set to Resource.class: @Model(adaptables = Resource.class)
  • the implementation does not support the target type