Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.
SOLVED

Sightly-Javascript USE Implemetaion - Question

Level 3

Hi All,

i am new to sightly.i understand that javascript USE class will be an server side programming. is there any way we can call an function written in javascript use file from sightly template? below is code which i  am trying to but the call is not getting executed onclick. let me know how to achieve this kind of scenario

HTML:

<div data-sly-use.model="logic.js">
<button id="clear-completed" onclick="${model.addItemAction}"> Click
    </button></div>

logic.js

use('/apps/todo/components/utils/filters.js', function (filters){
'use strict';

var model = filters;
     function addItemAction() {
        log.info("11111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111");
    }
    model.addItemAction = addItemAction();
    return model;
});

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Employee

Sightly is *only* server-side. So the onclick() here will never work.

I don't fully agree with Scott's comment on Java/OSGi. Both work well, and depends on your experience and other design considerations.

View solution in original post

4 Replies

Level 10

For server side execution of app logic with Sightly - you can use Java and OSGi (modified based on Feike comments)

The Java class extends com.adobe.cq.sightly.WCMUse. 

Using Java and Sightly - see this article: 

https://helpx.adobe.com/experience-manager/using/creating-sightly-component.html

Correct answer by
Employee

Sightly is *only* server-side. So the onclick() here will never work.

I don't fully agree with Scott's comment on Java/OSGi. Both work well, and depends on your experience and other design considerations.

Level 10

As @feike mentioned you will not be able to JS like code as sightly is server side.