Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

data migration

Level 3

Hi,

I am new to adobe CQ5. I already have a site developed in sharepoint . It contain more than 605 pages. I am trying to migrate that content in to adobe cq5. As of now i tried the following ( i am using CQ5.4)

1)sharepoint connector- if i use the share point connector the editing feature will loose.so i drop that idea.

2)site importer-(followed http://dev.day.com/docs/en/cq/current/developing/site_importer.htm) but Import component is not enabled.

3)http://docs.adobe.com/docs/en/cq/current/wcm/campaigns/landingpages.html followed . I have a master template  (i didnt get the blank canvas template also).

my requirement is that to migrate the data from sharepoint to adobe cq5 without loosing the editing feature of adobe cq5. Is there any way to do that?   i can not move forward because of not getting a way to this migration.

Thanks in advance

Ragam

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Employee Advisor

Hi Ragam,

You need to separate between "controls" (which would translate to AEM components IIUC) and "content" (pages, assets).

Regarding the content you need to decide, if that content needs to be editable in AEM or not. If you only transfer the content and if you want to replace it anyways (changed messaging, new designs, etc), an option would be top grab all the HTML and put it into a simple page component, which just dumps the complete HTML to the browser. But if you plan to migrate the content into an editable structure, you need to build the components and then transform the sharepoint content into the AEM content structure (as defined by your components). This is a more complicated process, because you have to develop an ETL-like process.

In the end it might be easier and cheaper just to develop the content and let editors migrate the content via copy&paste. At last 600 pages doesn't sound too much (one week of work for 5 people?).

kind regards,

Jörg