Highlighted

Content Fragment versioning

joshe79092507

25-04-2019

We are using Content Fragments with AEM 6.4 and have noticed that Cancel from the editor creates a new revision and will automatically overwrite any changes that may have been made outside the editor.  Anyone know why this is happening and if there is a way to configure this behavior?   Testing the same Cancel scenario with another asset type like a png, does not cause a new revision to be created.

Replies

Highlighted
Highlighted

joshe79092507

26-04-2019

I have tried on 6.4.3 and 6.4.4 and see the same behavior.

Steps to reproduce:

  1. Create a content fragment
  2. View timeline
  3. Open fragment for editing
  4. Cancel without making any changes
  5. View timeline
  6. Notice a new version has been created.   This appears to be a full rollback and will have overwritten any changes that may have been made to the underlying data while the editor was open.
Highlighted

PuzanovsP

MVP

26-04-2019

Hey Joshe,

Yeah, cancel can be a pretty heavy weight operation(noticed this too) as in every time a version get's created indeed.

If you do not need to create a version simply close the tab without clicking the cancel button.

There is no config to cancel the cancel button operation functionality I am aware of.

Regards,

Peter