Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

AEM secret management without git or environment variables?

Level 1

I'm looking for a security best practices guide or recommendation for AEM that includes how to manage secrets, for example credentials like API tokens, passwords or keys for third party services integrated with AEM. I'm not a security professional, though I'm curious enough to learn more about the area as getting security, less wrong, seems hard.

The AEM Security Checklist could be a good place, though it doesn't cover third party secret management as far as I can tell? Though perhaps it's more like Integrating with Third-Party Services - though again this doesn't seem to cover secrets directly (screenshots in specific guides like Salesforce look like it uses an HTML input type password field, though lack enough depth to see if the password just gets stored in another JCR node somewhere, or are more deeply locked down by AEM - is it even possible to know)? What if I have a third party integration requirement which doesn't have an AEM plugin yet?

For context, the well known (though not universal) 12factor.net/config does require a strict separation of config from code, which seems to often be interpreted by the industry in practice as put secrets into the environment (though it does not really say that).

This AEM cloud post talks about environment variables as one way to store secret client settings, though as summarised here (via this, which clarifies 12factor, jokes aside

• Given that the environment is implicitly available to the process, it's hard, if not impossible, to track access and how the contents get exposed (ps -eww ).

• It's common to have applications grab the whole environment and print it out for debugging or error reporting. So many secrets get leaked to PagerDuty that they have a well-greased internal process to scrub them from their infrastructure.