Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

What are the best ways to test .article files created with InDesign's Digital Publishing features?

Level 1

Hi there,

I have limited experience with InDesign's Digital Publishing features, but I'd like to know how everyone goes about testing their articles while/after they've worked on them. You used to be able to use the Folio Preview option (two years ago or so), but I understand that they removed it because it wasn't an accurate representation of the article and its format.

To those who know more about it, and have used the Digital Publishing Suite a lot more than me, what ways do you use to test your articles? If they are mostly online, could you suggest a fairly accurate way of doing so offline as well? I'm hoping that since InDesign now allows you to export .article files, it should be fairly easy?

Thanks in advance,

J

16 Replies

Level 1

DPS has been dropped from the recent versions of InDesign (CC2015/2017) and it's not now affordable unless you're a publishing giant. Have a look at in5 Ajar Productions: in5 - Home

Level 1

I understand that people are phasing it out to some degree, but as far as I can see InDesign 2017 still has all of the tools to build interactive content and export articles.

What I'd like to know is of efficient methods of testing the .article files, considering that the Folio Preview function doesn't exist.

Level 1

That's not a format, it's a platform.

Level 6

.article files are used in AEM Mobile. I'm moving this discussion there.

Level 1

I was under the feeling "article" file format is binary so probably not easily investigable.

Level 1

My mistake then. Do you mean .article? If this isn't what you are referring to, then you will need to be more specific.