Your achievements

Level 1

0% to

Level 2

Tip /
Sign in

Sign in to Community

to gain points, level up, and earn exciting badges like the new
Bedrock Mission!

Learn more

View all

Sign in to view all badges

SOLVED

Does Profile Merge Rules capture a second device if it has not been authenticated?

glennb29356951
Level 5
Level 5

Good morning,

I think the answer to my question is no but I want to be sure.

If I create a segment with a Profile Merge rule and user one has three devices but has only authenticated on device one does the system capture device two and device three?

Please let me know. Thanks. Glenn

1 Accepted Solution
Leticia_Isaacs
Correct answer by
Employee
Employee

Hello Glenn,

You are quite right. In your example, Audience Manager will not tie devices 2 & 3 to a user's profile (until the time when the user authenticates on these devices). We would need a common identifier to tie the user's devices together. This common identifier is the user's Customer ID which is synced with Audience Manager IDs on an authentication event.

Thanks,

Leticia

View solution in original post

1 Reply
Leticia_Isaacs
Correct answer by
Employee
Employee

Hello Glenn,

You are quite right. In your example, Audience Manager will not tie devices 2 & 3 to a user's profile (until the time when the user authenticates on these devices). We would need a common identifier to tie the user's devices together. This common identifier is the user's Customer ID which is synced with Audience Manager IDs on an authentication event.

Thanks,

Leticia

View solution in original post