Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Web elements template

Level 2

Hi,

I'm still new to this space and haven't used any analytics tool before, can someone please help answer if there's a way to create a template to collect metrics around navigation bars, buttons, links on the web page that I can use to accommodate for different channels?

Thanks!

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Community Advisor

Unless I am mis-understanding your question:

If you are using Activity Map... the "Activity Map Page" should provide the variation you need by default.

This will allow you to pull ALL navigation links site wide (using region "main-nav" for instance).... Or pull the use of "main-nav" based on a specific page (i.e. "home" page).

If you want to pull the usage of groups of pages (i.e. content pages - like articles, blogs, videos, etc; or maybe "section" pages) IF you page names are formatted in such a a way that you can use a "Activity Map Page" contains "X" to group those page types, that can work as well... if your page names aren't formatted in such a way, that can be more difficult and may cause challenges.... 

You could try to create region names that are specific to page types (like "home|main-nav" vs "section|main-nav", etc (using whatever format you choose)... but I will warn you that your developers may not want to try and code all these variations in per page, and if could cause more overhead on the rendering of the content.. things like your main nav tend to be shared assets.. you don't normally create a lot of variation to them... but it could be done; just work with your team to figure out a solution that works for everyone.

If this wasn't what you meant, please let me know and I will try to answer you better.

View solution in original post

4 Replies

Community Advisor

Hi,