Expand my Community achievements bar.

The next phase for Workfront Community ideas is coming soon. Learn all about it in our blog!

Showing Value to Executives Note - In my prev..

Employee

Showing Value to Executives

Note - In my previous life, I was a Workfront System Admin, and these are the steps that worked for me. I hope these ideas help other Sys Admins out there.

How are you sharing data from Workfront with Execs and how do you control the narrative?

Adobe Workfront data, like any data, can be open to interpretation if distributed without context, or presented to the wrong audience at the wrong time.

Reporting is just a visual way to present a story – of what happened, what is happening, and what could happen. Your Workfront data can be the paints you use to create that image. What kind of picture are you trying to present? And what kind of emotion are you trying to evoke with your story?

Is it a picture of a ship on rough seas?

Or is it a picture of a relaxing, sunny day?

And who is the audience for our picture? First-line supervisors benefit from task reports for their employees and middle management might need specific data on each active project, but unless it’s a high-profile, strategic project, then execs don’t typically need all of the details. They need to know are we moving in the right direction or the wrong direction.

The first step to showing value to executives is to identify the specific audience, value statements and timing for your reports.

When determining audience, typically, EVPs and C-Suite level are already bogged down with data, so find out what they care about now and build your story accordingly.

1. Less is more. If you want to make an impact, keep it short, stay on track, and end on a high note.