Expand my Community achievements bar.

The next phase for Workfront Community ideas is coming soon. Learn all about it in our blog!
SOLVED

Deleting Project and Status Level Status Keys

Avatar

Level 1

Hello Everyone,

 

We have created and deleted some task level status' from our instance, but when we add a new status we get the following message when trying to use the original key: 'Please make sure the status key has a unique value'. Is the a place in the system where we can wipe old keys to reuse?

 

Example:

 

We created the task level status 'On Hold' with the key 'HLD', then deleted the status. I created the 'On Hold' status again and would like to use the 'HLD' key again but cannot. I would like to delete the HLD key so I can use it again for the new On Hold status. Is this possible?

1 Accepted Solution

Avatar

Correct answer by
Community Advisor

I ran into this issue two months ago. I had to open a ticket with Workfront to work thru the issue. What I ended up having to do (at Workfront's recommendation) is locking the status and then deleting it, if it wasn't locked then deleting it would cause the issue you are describing. I tested on Sandbox first, and found the issue, so once WF provided the workaround I was able to use that in production. If you have already deleted them from production, you may have to submit a Workfront ticket.

 

They (Workfront) indicated that they were working on a fix, but didn't provide an ETA.

View solution in original post

6 Replies

Avatar

Level 10

I'm pretty sure when you delete something, the entry just gets flagged as deleted but still exists. To truly delete something you may need a database admin to go in there and manually trash it.

Avatar

Community Advisor

If you go to Setup > Statuses > Task statuses and hover over any of the statuses, on the right you should see edit or delete on hover (or see delete when you click into a status). You're saying even after you delete one, save, then go to add another you can't use the key from the deleted one? Be sure you're saving the deletion before adding another with same key, and try clearing your cache and trying again (WF has had the strangest errors lately that were resolved by clearing cache).

If this helped you, please mark correct to help others : )

Avatar

Level 1

I tried clearing cache and it didn't work. WF is definitely storing that deleted key somewhere on the backend. Someone else commented that they experienced the same issue and provided a workaround. 

Avatar

Correct answer by
Community Advisor

I ran into this issue two months ago. I had to open a ticket with Workfront to work thru the issue. What I ended up having to do (at Workfront's recommendation) is locking the status and then deleting it, if it wasn't locked then deleting it would cause the issue you are describing. I tested on Sandbox first, and found the issue, so once WF provided the workaround I was able to use that in production. If you have already deleted them from production, you may have to submit a Workfront ticket.

 

They (Workfront) indicated that they were working on a fix, but didn't provide an ETA.

Avatar

Level 10

Good to know Chris, I guess it deletes if it's locked first but if not it's just flagged as deleted but not really deleted.

Avatar

Level 1

Thank you! This has to be it. If not its not locked, it must save the key as different group admins can edit the status. I will open a ticket to get the keys removed and remember this going forward. This was so helpful!