Your achievements

Level 1

0% to

Level 2

Tip /
Sign in

Sign in to Community

to gain points, level up, and earn exciting badges like the new
Bedrock Mission!

Learn more

View all

Sign in to view all badges

Give PMs ability to prevent users from Logging Time to Completed Tasks

Avatar

Level 10

13-03-2017

One of the biggest complaints from our PMs is that there is no easy way to ensure that users stop logging time to a task after it is "Completed". We will have situations were at the end of the month a person it needing to update their timesheet and they are entering hours beyond the date the task was closed. So it becomes a 'dumping ground' for hours. We have created exception reports to help the PMs monitor when someone is logging time to a Task beyond the Actual Completion Date, however, it's just extra overhead for them that takes time away from more important PM functions. They would really like it if they have an way to stop this from happening; they already have enough reports to monitor.

There is one option that they can attempt to stop this, but it requires that they update the Sharing Option for each person assigned to the Task to un-check the "log time" option, which is also very time consuming depending on the number of Tasks that need to be updated and the number of people assigned. So this isn't perceived by them as a "easy" solution for obvious reasons.

27 Comments

Avatar

Level 7

14-03-2017

Definitely agree. Because it's so easy for a user to add tasks to their timesheet this is a very easy way to hours to get dumped where they shouldn't be.

The simple workaround once this is in place would be that the user has to click the "Actually, I'm not done yet" link to reopen the task. I would say that the addition of a notification to the project manager in the case of a task being reopened this way would prove extremely beneficial - especially with the release of daily summary emails. A notification that's "Task Reopened to Project Owner". I'm not sure if reopening a task retriggers the notification of "Task Progress Change to Project Owner" or not but I'd say this is an instance where you'd want an explicit notification.

Avatar

Level 10

22-09-2017

I would like this idea implemented & I also like the notification alert that David commented about for "Task Reopened to a Project Owner."

Avatar

Level 10

18-07-2018

Ok, any duplicates to this Idea have been closed and votes added to this one. I still can't believe we can't get this one voted up enough to get it looked at by support...come on folks, we can do this! 🙂

Avatar

Level 2

13-09-2018

Are there any plans to add this feature?

I raise a similar feature request to this one (https://support.workfront.com/hc/en-us/community/posts/115005720927--CLOSED-Lock-tasks-to-prevent-ti...)... it has been marked as closed (without any explanation)... I presume because it is similar to this one?!?

Al

Avatar

Level 3

18-09-2018

This should be a standard thing on any Project Management Software. I was blown away to find out this isn't a feature of Workfront.

Avatar

Level 2

18-09-2018

There are now at least 37 votes for this feature... the highest vote total in the Timesheets area for an enhancement request that does not yet have a decision to implement or not.

Admins... any insight as to timelines?

Avatar

Level 2

18-09-2018

And/or the capability to prevent anyone on the project logging time at the project level, thus just bucketing their project hours.

Avatar

Level 3

18-09-2018

Hi Sarah, you can prevent logging at the project level by setting the project to "closed" or an equivalent closed status.

There's just no way to do it at a task level.

Avatar

Level 2

18-09-2018

Thanks, Stacy but this is needed for active projects. Is that possible?

Lots of times our users miss they are logging time at the project level and not at the task level as they look very similar both on the timesheet and in the project/task view.