Expand my Community achievements bar.

Do you have questions about the migration to Adobe Business Platform? Come join our upcoming coffee break and ask away!

Clear complete tasks from "my work" & show % complete

Avatar

Level 10

3/14/17

Tasks that are marked as "canceled" or "100% complete" from the project should clear from "my work".

I'd also like to see %complete in my work.

17 Comments

Avatar

Level 3

3/22/17

Agreed, clicking on DONE or setting the task to COMPLETE should both result in the updating the project and the My Work task lists

Avatar

Level 8

5/17/17

Love this. The other problem we have with this is that when we look at a user's allocation, the tasks/projects still pull into staffing allocations if the due date range falls within the time frame I am looking at. If the task is 100% complete, it should not pull into allocation or My Work.

Avatar

Level 10

5/26/17

I understand that the logic is that even if a PM has marked a task as 100% on behalf of a user, they should confirm that they actually did the work, by clicking 'Done'. I think this functionality should be retained, but there could be a configuration option (perhaps as part of the Layout Template) that said whether users need to also click Done for 100% complete tasks.

Avatar

Level 10

6/19/17

I understand what you're saying David, but if as a PM I have marked the task "complete" on behalf of someone or other changes, then it is presumed complete. Sometimes it's a struggle to get users to mark tasks in Workfront or even review their "my work" because it gets so busy/cluttered. They won't spend the time to go thru the list, so being able to help clear some of those items based on a direct conversation would be helpful.

Avatar

Level 10

6/19/17

Hi definitely see your point Tammy and we would probably prefer to use it the way you describe. My point was just that it might be good to keep the current functionality as an option for teams/companies who want to work that way.

Cheers

Avatar

Level 10

6/28/17

I agree that tasks completed & Project closed should be automatically removed from user's My Work tab.

I experience the same as Tammy has relayed - it's a struggle to get users to mark tasks in Workfront & the users get frustrated that they are spending time updating tasks that are already completed or closed.

Avatar

Level 4

7/7/17

An alternative could be that when the task or issue is marked in any status that equates with complete, the item is greyed out in a similar fashion as it is when a project has been marked closed or on hold. That way, it's easily identifiable by the team member and they can quickly remove it from their list.

Another option could be that they would add a tab or recently closed/removed area. All items that have been marked as complete or in some way done, including tasks/issues on closed projects, would show up in this area and could be reviewed, reopened, etc.

I'd love to hear if others can think of another way this could be resolved.

Avatar

Level 3

7/13/17

The 'greyed' background is a practical idea as it should be a functionality that is easy to integrate in to the software

Avatar

Level 10

7/17/17

A new update is:

NEW Once an Idea has received 45 votes, Workfront Product Management will address whether the idea is Planned or Not Planned

so make sure to "upvote" this or any other ideas you're interested in so they will actually get reviewed!

Avatar

Level 8

8/21/17

I suspect the reason it's there is that if the user (not the PM) clicks 'Done' and then realises there's a bit more to do, they can still correct/edit it. If it disappears completely from 'My Work' as a team member (and many don't stray beyond 'My Work') it may be lost.

Perhaps we add a tab at the level of 'working on' and 'work requests' for 'recently completed', and clicking on done automatically removes it from 'working on' and puts it on 'recently completed'.