Expand my Community achievements bar.

Enhance your AEM Assets & Boost Your Development: [AEM Gems | June 19, 2024] Improving the Developer Experience with New APIs and Events
SOLVED

Trying to print form fields only

Level 2

I have made a fillable form with LiveCycle Designer, it is a 2 page form that my customer will receive by email, fill out and then feeds into a regular ink jet printer to print off fields onto an already pre-printed page they have in their office (they are basically filling out their name, address, etc contact information to print onto a brochure that is pre-printed) My client will use Acrobat Reader to fill in the form. Does anyone know a way to do this? I have read about making the background non-printable, or non-visible, but my background is an already created PDF that I have imported (with the forms built on top of it in LiveCycle). Doesn't seem to work unless I import it as an EPS.

I also have Adobe Acrobat 8 Professional. Is there a different way I should be doing this instead of LiveCycle? I have tried to import the PDF background as an EPS, but the quality makes it really bad and I want the professional quality of the pdf that I already have built, as I have 10 of these to do and the PDFs are already done.

I have been trying to work this out for 2 weeks and still not getting anywhere. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi,

OK I am back at the desk.

I have checked the help files for Acrobat 8 Pro and Acrobat 9 Pro and it appears that the ability to "import as a layer" was added in version 9. Sorry.

You can check out the help file here: http://help.adobe.com/en_US/Acrobat/8.0/Professional/index.html and go to Editing PDFs > Layers.

If the original PDF was generated from InDesign you may still be able to get the layers into the PDF: Help file