Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Which should we use static or editable templates

Level 4

Hi everyone,

Actually this is a simple question. As the editable templates are introduced( but seems little confusing since it comes to just drag and drop for me), I am more versed to static templates since I am an HTML developer also. My question is which should be  actually used from version 6.3 onward and which one is recommended by Adobe also?

I would require some detailed explanations on using the OOTB components in an editable page with parsys in action which will be very helpful. Any detailed answers on this question is admirable.

Thanks!

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

From 6.3 on - Adobe recommends that you use editable templates. You should use editable templates, set policies (that control which components are authorable (in the page) in the layout container) and then set fixed components (like footers and headers) in the editable template.

For more information about editable templates - see these:

1 - Adobe Experience Manager Help | Creating an Adobe Experience Manager 6.4 website using Editable Temp...

2 - Scott's Digital Community: Guided Journey for Experience Manager on Editable Templates

3 - Getting Started with AEM Sites - WKND Tutorial

Hope this helps...

View solution in original post

8 Replies

Employee Advisor

The whole idea behind editable templates is to require less developer work, and give more abilities to the (knowledgable) authors.

Jörg

Correct answer by
Level 10

From 6.3 on - Adobe recommends that you use editable templates. You should use editable templates, set policies (that control which components are authorable (in the page) in the layout container) and then set fixed components (like footers and headers) in the editable template.

For more information about editable templates - see these:

1 - Adobe Experience Manager Help | Creating an Adobe Experience Manager 6.4 website using Editable Temp...