Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Required Java knowledge for AEM 6.5

Level 5

Hello everyone,

I'm really new to AEM and to master it, I've to be a master in Java first. I'm good with basics like looping and programming logics but not with the advanced topics. So, please suggest me that how much Java should I be knowing that I can easily create a component. And if possible, do tell me that from where should I learn it.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Community Advisor

HI @nikita24tailor,

Great that you are wanting to learn AEM!

AEM is a Web content management tool based on many technologies (like Java, javascript, CSS, angular, react, etc). Learning any of the supported languages is one's own choice.

Coming to your question on java topics, please go through

• Core Java (OOPS concepts and all other basics)
  • Advance java (J2EE, servlets etc)

Kindly note that AEM is an application built on top of java, so you would see many new concepts (like the apache sling framework). start working on weekend tutorial to get familiarized with those topics : https://experienceleague.adobe.com/docs/experience-manager-learn/getting-started-wknd-tutorial-devel...

Happy learning!

Thanks,

Kiran Vedantam

View solution in original post

5 Replies

Community Advisor

Hi @nikita24tailor 

Do go through OOPs obviously, Collections, core java etc. Probably you'll need a lot of learning to do.

You'll get to learn about Java in any learning portals like Udemy, LinkedIn, etc. Do find a platforms where you can practice and learn, not just see videos.

https://experienceleague.adobe.com/docs/experience-manager-learn/foundation/development/understand-j...

Level 2

Thanks but wanted to know in more detail because I've gone through a udemy course, got some videos from youtube too. But when I go for understanding the java files in AEM, I'm unable to do that.

Community Advisor