Expand my Community achievements bar.

Join us for the next Community Q&A Coffee Break on Tuesday April 23, 2024 with Eric Matisoff, Principal Evangelist, Analytics & Data Science, who will join us to discuss all the big news and announcements from Summit 2024!
SOLVED

How to override tracking data instead of appending it.

Level 1

Hi, I am new to adobe analytics

I have a form where i want to track a progress in adobe analytics, so i create a new event which fires an event on every click

which simply send progress data like 12% or 15%

in adobe side i have created a event, rules and data element which seems to be working fine and giving a result

only problem is when i see the report it shows entry like

Form 1

Progress 12%

Progress 15%

Progress 20%
where as i want single entry like

Form 1

Progress 20%

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Community Advisor

Yes, my point is, you cannot override values once they are sent...  

- When you send "progress 25%" that will have a row in the data that says "25%" with the timestamp that it was sent and all the correlation values.

- When you send "progress 50%" you will have a new row in the data that says "50%" with the timestamp that was send and all the correlation values...

- You cannot modify a past event. You will always end up with multiple events

The only way to "override" and only have a single "max % complete" is to completely change how you are tracking and not send any data until an abandonment is detected (i.e. the user attempts to leave the page or close the tab/browser)