Expand my Community achievements bar.

Do I have to add an "Accept cookies" condition to every rule created?

Level 2

Hi, I am very new to Adobe Analytics and indeed, I am asking this question because the team in charge of implementing Adobe Analytics on our company is not doing a very good job, unfortunately. So, there are several things they have done that are, at least, suspicious to me or don't follow best practices.

So, that's my main question: is it necessary to add a Cookies acceptance condition to every rule created on Adobe Launch?

Thanks a lot for your time.

5 Replies

Community Advisor

I guess it depends.. is your consent just about Cookies? Or about Tracking in general? 

It also depends on how you are facilitating this... With ECID, the consent settings can be set in the Extension... but then Adobe will defer to the old s_vid cookie... but I think in the extension you can change this to session based... that should change it from being a "fingerprinting" cookie, to simply a session cookie that will be destroyed at the end of the session (thereby not causing privacy issues)

If those are set up, you may not even need rules... as they are configured at the extension levels... however, if you are setting cookies in your rules (that aren't session based), you may have to add conditions, or just custom code inside your rule to control your own cookie logic... 

However, in general,  don't believe Actions will actually set cookies, but Page Views do.... of course, you will have to test the scenarios and make sure that the behaviours are as expected...  Of course, we haven't done this yet... I fully expect my company to come to me any day and request it to be done (I'm honestly surprised they haven't yet)....

Now, if your consent is around tracking itself, then any rule that is used to create tracking would need a condition... 

Level 2