If I deactivate a page in AEM, can I later activate it without losing any changes?
Someone wants me to revert changes I have published while they tweak the content. My team does not use the versioning feature (to save versions of pages), so I'm wondering whether deactivating effectively tells AEM to revert to the last published instance of the page (good) or to trash the page (bad).
Can I deactivate without losing content?
Any help appreciated.
Deactivation of a page will remove/trash the page from publish.
While you do publish AEM creates version by default. You can check if you can find the version from timeline if not you need to revert(undo) your changes manually and publish reverted changes.
Thanks. I see the automatically created version history now and the Revert button. 🙂
Correct - Deactivate - aka Unpublish a page means its offline and you will not lose any content changes. You can publish at anytime to put it back online.
Thanks. It's good to confirm that.