Your achievements

Level 1

0% to

Level 2

Tip /
Sign in

Sign in to Community

to gain points, level up, and earn exciting badges like the new
Bedrock Mission!

Learn more

View all

Sign in to view all badges

Allow "Cancel" option in Analysis Workspace exit prompt

Avatar

Avatar
Give Back 50
Level 5
brentrad
Level 5

Likes

56 likes

Total Posts

83 posts

Correct reply

16 solutions
Top badges earned
Give Back 50
Ignite 10
Give Back 25
Ignite 5
Ignite 3
View profile

Avatar
Give Back 50
Level 5
brentrad
Level 5

Likes

56 likes

Total Posts

83 posts

Correct reply

16 solutions
Top badges earned
Give Back 50
Ignite 10
Give Back 25
Ignite 5
Ignite 3
View profile
brentrad
Level 5

31-03-2021

Description -

At this time there is no way to cancel an Analysis Workspace project exit without discarding all changes or saving the project. If you hit the back button on your browser, click on any navigation options in the top level navigation, or accidentally press the back button on your mouse, you are shown the message in the screenshot below.

 

brentrad_0-1617207646127.png

 

Unless you click "Save", even if you don't actually want to save your project for future use, you will lose all of your work.


Why is this feature important to you -

There are times in which I am pulling data using Analysis Workspace but don't need to save a project for future use. On several occasions I have accidentally clicked the back button on my mouse and had all of my work discarded. This is very frustrating. Most software and websites allow a "cancel" option before exiting a page or project in which updates have been made. 


How would you like the feature to work -

Ideally, the process of exiting a project should be like closing a file in Microsoft Excel. In that program, the exit prompt includes three options: Save, Don't Save, Cancel.


Current Behaviour -

It is not possible to exit this prompt once it appears on screen without the project either being saved or discarded. If you do not interact with the prompt within a few seconds, this is considered a "discard" and the project is automatically discarded. If you press the escape key, which typically stops a process, this is considered a "discard" and the project is automatically discarded.

 

 

1 Comment

Avatar

Avatar
Coach
Community Advisor
Andrey_Osadchuk
Community Advisor

Likes

557 likes

Total Posts

1,023 posts

Correct reply

273 solutions
Top badges earned
Coach
Originator
Shape 25
Bedrock
Boost 500
View profile

Avatar
Coach
Community Advisor
Andrey_Osadchuk
Community Advisor

Likes

557 likes

Total Posts

1,023 posts

Correct reply

273 solutions
Top badges earned
Coach
Originator
Shape 25
Bedrock
Boost 500
View profile
Andrey_Osadchuk
Community Advisor

07-04-2021

I also face the same situation regularly. What I would like to see is the auto-saving feature that would either auto-create a version of the project or to allow to restore the latest saved state on Workspace open.