Expand my Community achievements bar.

Do you have questions about the migration to Adobe Business Platform? Come join our upcoming coffee break and ask away!

Resourcing: Start On and Due On on same date, still visible in resource overviews?

Level 1
Hi, I'm a resourcing manager within a marketing department. We've been Project Managing in WF for about 3,5 months now but only started using the resourcing piece of it very recently. The pilot started 2 weeks ago, so I'm still learning. We create schedule templates (tasks) which have a pre-set duration and planned hours. They also contain roles & predecessors and calculate automatically from Planned Completion Date (default project setting). This is working quite well for us, but for one thing: when we want a task to start and complete on the same day. Entering 1 day duration automatically lifts the due on date to the next day, which unnecessarily extends our schedule. Example: 1 Days, 4 hours leads to Start on: 10/07/17, Due on 11/07/17. As we The intuitive thing to do is to enter 0 (zero) in Duration, and indeed the schedule then puts Start On and Due On on the same day. Perfect. Until you check your resources: as soon as a task contains Duration 0 it no longer appears in the Resource Grid / User Allocation / User Staffing overviews. Even if the task has 8 hours allocated to this. This means that the 0 Duration approach is pointless from a resourcing perspective. Does anyone have experience with how to plan hours on 1 date and it still being taken into account for resource allocation? I'd love to find a fix for this... Thanks!
5 Replies

Level 10