Expand my Community achievements bar.

Join us for an upcoming in-person Adobe Target Skill Builders event ~~> We're hosting these live learning opportunities to equip you with the knowledge and skills to leverage Target successfully. Learn more to see if we'll be coming to a city near you!
SOLVED

Prioritizing activities that overlap in audience and page

Level 3

Hello, I'm new to Adobe Target, so this may be a basic question.

If I have multiple activities set up to deliver content on the same page to the same audience, can I control when a user sees one activity as opposed to another?

For example, say I have activity 1 and activity 2 with overlapping audiences that deliver content to the same page. Can I set a rule that says that if a user has never visited the page before he will see activity 1? After the visitor sees activity 1 three times, then he will see activity 2 going forward?

Assuming this is possible, does this go against best practices? Should collisions be avoided as a general rule?

Thanks,

Keith

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Employee

Can I set a rule that says that if a user has never visited the page before he will see activity 1?

Yes, there is a "new visitor" attribute you can use to create an audience to apply to "activity 1" that limits it only to new visitors

> After the visitor sees activity 1 three times, then he will see activity 2 going forward?

Yes - use profile scripts to keep track

You can use the priorities to determine which experience will be shown to a visitor in the case that a visitor qualifies for 2 different Activities.

Here's the documentation - https://experienceleague.adobe.com/docs/target/using/activities/priority.html?lang=en

Consider this carefully when designing your testing and personalization strategy.