Expand my Community achievements bar.

Validation Question - Why is form displaying error message for Required Field?

Level 1

Hi, I am new to Livecycle Designer ES3 and would really appreciate assistance with a validation issue on our first form. We are using Reader Extended forms with Workbench to validate data entered with a backend database. Our validations are a combination of javascript on functions and built-in validations.

Everything is working except for an Email field (optional field) followed by a Confirm Email field (optional dependant field on whether email field is entered) followed by an Occupancy field which is a  group radio button (required field). When the Confirm Email field does not match the Email field an error message box is displayed and you have to click Ok. This part is working fine. However after clicking Ok an error message saying Occupancy is required (the next field) is also displayed. The Confirm Email field is validated with javascript on the Exit function. It tests and shows the message properly and also sets focus to return the cursor to the confirm email field. The Occupancy required field is validated using the built-in validation.