Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

cannot access row in table

Former Community Member

I have a table with numeric fields and need to sum all the rows for a given ciolumn. The path to the field is:

topmostSubform.Page.Content.Repeater.Table1.Row1.F11a

On the calculate event for the sum field, if I use:

topmostSubform.Page.Content.Repeater.Table1.Row1.all.length;

I get a value of 28 which is how many rows are displayed.

If I use:

topmostSubform.Page.Content.Repeater.Table1.Row1.F11a.all.length;

I get a value of 1.

If I use:

topmostSubform.Page.Content.Repeater.Table1.Row1.F11a.rawValue;

I get the value for the first row.

I need to iterate through all the rows. I've been reading the documentation. None of the examples I've seen are for data-driven tables. I am also new to Adobe stuff. If someone would tell me how to iterate through all the rows displayed on the page I would appreciate it. Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

There's a couple of ways depending on if you use Formcalc or JavaScript.

Formcalc is easy because you can use wildcards - if you search the help on "to perform calculations in a table" there's a picture which helps explain what's going on.

Formcalc:

sum (Table.Row[*].Field[*])

So in your case I think the following should work: sum(topmostSubform.Page.Content.Repeater.Table1.Row[*].F11a[*])

You may not need the full path to the table, depends where you are in the form.

Javascript:

If you search help on "calculating sums of fields" there's examples for summing repeating fields of different types.

To calculate the sum of fields nested within a repeating subform (tables are repeating subforms):

Add a calculate event to the Sum field:

var fields = xfa.resolveNodes("detail[*].NumericField1");    

var total = 0;

for (var i=0; i <= fields.length-1; i++) {

total = total + fields.item(i).rawValue;

}

this.rawValue = total;