Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Upload / Attach File in form

Former Community Member
I'm new to the LiveCycle Designer, so please bare with me.

I need to design a form that will allow a user to link/attach files. When the user submits the form we would like the form to link to the documents like a hyperlink.

Please help the newbie.
284 Replies

Former Community Member
Your options are to attach the document (and have it part of the PDF) or create a link to a file (where it is stored in a common location) and pass around the link. The link would have to to a web server (i.e. an HTTP connection). You will not be able to have a map to a drive or something like \\servername\folder as your link.

Make sense?

Level 1

I would like the same ability to attach files to forms, can you send any information you have to mbivona@beacon-law.com please?

Level 1

Does this attachment give me the option to send to clients and have them attach files?

Thank you

Former Community Member
Thanks for the tip, it does make sense, however I do not know how to make this work. I'm interested in both solutions Paul. Can you expand on that please?

Former Community Member
If you post your email address I will send you a sample of the programmatic way to attach a file.

For the link approach. I assume that you are referencing the files from a common location. So once we pick the file and know where it is we can create a link like http://servername/foldername/filename based on info we know and info we are passed. Then we simply construct the link name. I like to create a button (because it has a click event) and make it look like a link (no borders, same as the back ground and chnage the text and colour to blue). Does this make sense to you?

Level 1

I am after something similar as well, more specifically...