Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Database Connection

Former Community Member
Im new to working with Livecycle. I am attempting to connect to a SQL database. Im able to setup the connection easy enough and select the table i want to query, but when I enter the field in to the binding section and test it. the field only displays the first value. Ive tied it different ways with different types of objects (list box, combo box, ect) .any ideas what Im missing...?
64 Replies

Former Community Member
When you create the connection in the Dataview by default the connection to the dB will happen when the form is loaded. Hence it will return the 1st record. In the data connection definition there is a delayed open checkbox on the last panel. If you check this off then you can control when the data connection happens. I have some samples that show how to get a SQL statement into the connection and cause it to open. If you post your email address I will send it to you.

Level 7

Hi Paul, is it possible to send these  samples that show how to get a SQL statement into the connection ?

printshop@baycrest.org

Thanks

Former Community Member

Those samples are posted in an early post on this thread. You should be able to grab them from there.

Paul

Former Community Member

Hi Paul,

i'm trying to connect a SQL server DB using you code:

when open the form i still get the message "Connection failed becuse the

environment is not trusted" and when clicking on button i get the error:

GeneralError: Operation failed.

XFAObject.setAttribute:7:XFA:data[0]:#subform[0]:Button1[0]:click

Method: 'setAttribute' cannot be called because doing so would violate this document's permissions settings.

(I'm using Designer version 8.1.2)

Please help me (i'm going crazy with this!)

Regards

Luca