Expand my Community achievements bar.

TrackAction and TrackState at same time

Level 8

Hello Adobe Analytics,

Quick Question,

Has anybody tried to use a trackAction and trackState simultaneously on mobile apps ?

I need to get to know the name of the page (screen / state) the action is launched.

I've never tried this before, but we are having some trouble with this , and I'm not sure this is feasible - since for me those methods are 2 very different things.

If not, I guess it's still possible to send a context data with the name of the screen on the TrackAction, like on DTM with Custom links for getting to know the pageName where these come from.

Or vice versa, do a TrackState with a contextData on the event.

Our need is the following  :

We have a placed the trackaction call on the Login screen to capture the login success event. Also on Order Placed Success screen we have placed the trackaction call for the order placed success event. Because of which we are not getting pageview for these screens. Is it advisable to have trackaction and trackstate call on these screens to capture a pageview and event?

Cheers !

Topics

Topics help categorize Community content and increase your ability to discover relevant content.

5 Replies

Level 2

I only use trackState and capture everything in this one. I don't see any reason to use trackAction except the case where you don't want to count it as screen view..

You should be able to achieve everything  under trackState..

Level 5

Check out the documentation for sending in along additional data in a trackAction: Track App Actions

You can put the current page at the time of the action into the context data, and then map it to your desired evar/sprop. Then you'd be able to see the pages/screens on which your action happened.

Level 4

Your implementation is not complementing your Analytical requirement,