Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

How to Hash Email from dataLayer and Pass to XDM Object in Adobe Data Collection

Level 2

Hello everyone,

I'm relatively new to Adobe Data Collection and am seeking some guidance on handling data from a `dataLayer`.

Let me apologize in advance if this seems like a basic question.

On our web pages, the developer has implemented a `dataLayer` with the following structure:

dataLayer.push({
event: "pageLoad",
user: {
email: "test1@gmail.com",
authenticatedState: "Authenticated"
}
});

I'm able to capture the raw email address as a Data Element without any issues.

However, I'm struggling with how to process this email into a SHA-256 hashed version and then pass it into my xdm (Experience Data Model) object.

Could anyone provide insights or suggestions on how to achieve this? Basically, I want to pre-hash the email address in Data Collection first before it ingest the full email address into AEP.

Thanks,

Rap

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 2

Hello @AllenTs2 ,

I can propose the following two methods, and you can choose any one of the below based on the flexibility and compatibility. 

………

Method 1:

Hashing at the dataLayer level hashes the email before it is actually sent to Adobe Data collection, and improves the privacy and security of the data.

Step 1: Include the CryptoJS library in your HTML, which can be from the CDN URL. Below example is:

<script src="https://cdnjs.cloudflare.com/ajax/libs/crypto-js/4.1.1/crypto-js.min.js"></script>

Step 2: Modify the current dataLayer push to include hashing the email with CryptoJS:

<script>
function hashEmail(email) {
return CryptoJS.SHA256(email).toString();
}
// Example code to collect email
var userEmail = “test1@gmail.com”;
dataLayer.push({
event: “pageLoad”,
email: hashEmail(userEmail),
authenticatedState: “Authenticated”
}
});
</script>

Method 2: