Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Capturing a quantity value after click

Level 2

Hello,

We have a feature on our website where visitors can add our products to their cart, with a specified quantity for each part.  What I'm trying to do is capture the value entered after a visitor clicks the Add to BOM button.  Here is a link to one of our product pages.  

I'm fairly new with Launch, and have been struggling on how to set up a rule.  Any feedback/suggestions would be appreciated.

Thank you!

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 8

@robertw54618073 

At a high level, you'd need to create a rule that fires when either the"click" event occurs on the button, or "submit" event occurs on the form where the button is found. The selectors for these elements are, from what I found, "a.btn.add-btn" and "form.ng-valid.ng-dirty.ng-valid-parse", respectively.

To pick up the quantity value, you'll want to use a data element to grab the value. I'd start with the following config:

• Extension: Core
  • Data Element Type: DOM Attribute
  • Storage Duration: None
  • CSS Selector: input[ng-model='quantity']
  • Use the value of: Value

In your rule, reference the data element to get hold of the quantity. From there, do whatever you need with it.

Note: The selectors I've suggested are based on limited knowledge of the site, so it's possible (likely?) you'll need to come up with more reliable options. If a suitable ID can be added to the button and text box elements, that would make this much easier for you going forward.

View solution in original post

5 Replies

Correct answer by
Level 8

@robertw54618073 

At a high level, you'd need to create a rule that fires when either the"click" event occurs on the button, or "submit" event occurs on the form where the button is found. The selectors for these elements are, from what I found, "a.btn.add-btn" and "form.ng-valid.ng-dirty.ng-valid-parse", respectively.