Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Adobe Launch web SDK extension

Level 2

I'm new to AEP web sdk extension. Till now, I've been using adobe analytics extension in launch to set variables, send beacon and clear variables.

Now, I want to migrate to using AEP web sdk extension. I've followed adobe tutorial to create xdm schema, datastream, installed web sdk extension and then used it to send Event and then tested the data inthe debugger. The xdm schema has evars, props, hierarchies and lists.

In order to send simple events like pageview and link click or complex events triggered on conditions,  and product string, I've been setting them in the custom code 'open editor' option in the 'set variables' action using the adobe analytics extension. When migrating to web sdk extension, how to proceed for this? What steps to follow?

namandeepkaur_0-1691558668641.png

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Community Advisor

@namandeepkaur wrote:

I attended an adobe seminar where they highlighted AA via AEP web sdk. Your thoughts on this?

There are 2 main benefits to using Web SDK over AA's AppMeasurement:

1. If you have implementations for other Adobe products, e.g. Target, Audience Manager, then consolidating them in Web SDK will reduce the number of network requests from the users' browsers. (For mobile users, that would help to reduce their data consumption.)
  2. Web SDK uses cookies that are generated at Adobe's server, rather than at the user's browser. That can help to mitigate (not eliminate) some browser privacy issues, e.g. Apple's ITP.

Back to your issue:

Ok, I understand what you mean about now not being the time to migrate all of your Rules and what-nots. Unfortunately, I don't think you can replicate the AA custom code to send events to Web SDK easily.