Expand my Community achievements bar.

Applications for the 2024-2025 Adobe Experience Manager Champion Program are open!

Can somebody explain the simple flow for reading a value from JCR and storing a value to JCR from touch UI

Level 1

Hi,

I would appreciate if someone could explain me in simple terms the flow of reading/writing and displaying the data stored in the field in UI in AEM web page using a touch UI component.

So my background is new to AEM but not new to CMS of other stacks. Here’s what I have understood so far in AEM.

1) Creating a touch UI component in CRXDE, using the property to store value in JCR and display the component in UI so that it could be dragged and dropped into the iparsys.

2) I know for touch UI I have to go get the reference to granite/ui/.... for fields, that i would like to use.

What i need help with understanding is --

1)     so i am able to store value in the JCR  - just set the property in CRX and it saves that in JCR.

a. Is this true for simple controls like text, image etc without validation?    

2)     How do i get the values back from JCR and bind it back to the control (touch UI)?

a.  Do I have to write getters and setters for that, which means should i create Java classes and where should that be? should that be a OSGI bundle or should that be a jar files or a bean file.

b. is there a direct way to bind the property back to control? For example, if the checkbox was checked it stores “yes” in the JCR but how to do retrieve it back and see a checkbox checked when I open the dialog in edit mode.

There are examples out there but I wanted someone to explain me the control flow, so that I can make much more complex components.
Appreciate your help.

Thanks

RC

4 Replies

Level 4

When you create a component in the TOuch UI, you are using JCR nodes to build the dialog for the TOUCH UI component.