Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Adaptive form dynamic Drop-down funtionality

Level 2

Hi All,

I am New to Adaptive forms, I want to implement cascading drop-down functionality (3 levels ex: country, sate, city)

Lets say the first dropdown is county and second is the states for the selected country.

so how can i get the states based on the selected Country i.e based on the first dropdown how to fetch 2nd dropdown data.

similar 3rd drop-down based on second one

I have implemented it in xdp and it works, I have used xdp reference and developed adaptive form but the functionality doesn't work. adaptive is not reading the xml values(non binded after initialize).

Please guide the steps which I can implement cascading drop-down functionality in adaptive form.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 7

There are a few ways to approach this, but I will share one that I have used before:

First, I create a hidden text field on the form and initialise that field with a JSON string that contains my Country/State/City objects. This could be fetched from a datasource, pre-populated or just be static when the form initialises.  I then created a javascript object to behave as a dictionary and used the HTML5 localstorage to persist this dictionary, so I could look it up from each of the dropdown lists without re-parsing the JSON every time. AEM Forms has a few libraries available to it to process the JSON string (Underscore.js, jQuery, etc) so you dont need to write all the collection manipulation routines.

Second, I would populate the First dropdown list using the first-level country object names. e.g. on initialise, get the list of names from the localstorage object, sort your list (if required) then assign this.items=[your array of country names].