Expand my Community achievements bar.

The next phase for Workfront Community ideas is coming soon. Learn all about it in our blog!

Diagramming & Documenting Processes Outside of Workfront

Level 2

Hello Team,

I am a new system admin. Various Workfront resources have stressed the importance of getting to know your Team's processes (by documenting and diagraming them outside of the system) to better understand and unveil ways to optimize and bring that work into Workfront. This is something I agree is critical for my team to do but I have not come across anything in the Workfront outlining how to do so.

MY ASK:

• Does anyone have advice on best ways to approach this daunting task?
  • Any recommendations on tools and resources to consider using
  • For those with very complex and integrated processes, any recommendations on where to start or how to best break the process down as not to get overwhelmed.

Appreciate any additional advice you can offer.

Thank you,

Nichole

Topics

Topics help categorize Community content and increase your ability to discover relevant content.

3 Replies

Level 10

Hi Nicole,

As Catch-22ish as this will sound (and anticipating that many others will offer the type of reply you expected), my recommended tool of choice is...use Workfront.

If you decide to take that plunge, let me know, and I (and many others, I suspect) would be happy to offer additional details.

Regard,

Doug

Employee

Hi Nichole,

Glad you reached out. I would agree that mapping these processes outside of the tool is best.

Here is a recording of a session I did last year at leap, entitled "Design a workflow to change your business." https://workfront-video.wistia.com/medias/rs95gvugh9.

It should answer your first and third bullets. Although it is 50 minutes, you can fast forward :). If you would like to schedule some time to talk through it, just let me know. Happy to help.

As for your other two bullets, here is what I would recommend: