Expand my Community achievements bar.

Any option to transpose task rows to column

Level 4
Hi, We have a unique report requirement. Each project has 3 deployment tasks - Deployment 1, Deployment 2 and Deployment 3. We need to create a report which will list each project with planned completion dates of each of the three deployment dates as columns - Project Name Deployment 1 Date Deployment 2 date Deployment 3 date In a database query this will be relatively simple with the help of joins. Is there any way to get a report like this in Workfront?
6 Replies

Level 10
Yes, you’ll need to study this Forum for Text Mode and SHARECOL. The SHARECOL function in Text Mode does what you are looking for. I’m no expert at it, but instead rely on others on this forum. Search the forum for SHARECOL and you’ll see how it works. Thanks! Eric

Level 10
Hi Sadashiv. I suggest you consider adding Milestones to those three tasks in question, and then running a Milestone report to display the dates, as per https://support.workfront.com/hc/en-us/articles/217298357-Associating-a-Milestone-with-a-Task Regards, Doug

Level 4
Hi, Thank you both for your suggestions. We could not add milestones to those tasks. However, text mode did the trick. We had to write text mode to iterate through the tasks on the project and check for a specific task name and put its planned completion date. displayname=Pol Admin Deploy Date listdelimiter= listmethod=nested(tasks).lists textmode=true type=iterate valueexpression=IF({name}="Deploy Pol Admin/ECM",{plannedCompletionDate}) valueformat=HTML

Level 2
In addition to this incredibly insightful block of text mode, is there a way to additionally enable the resulting field value to be in-line editable? In my case, I am leveraging this technique for Planned Completion Dates, and I can't use the Milestone report because I need other project columns too.

Level 4