Expand my Community achievements bar.

DTM Cant overwrite Existing (non-dtm implementation) Pagename w/ DTM Page Load Rule

Level 2

Have an existing non-DTM Omniture implementation.  Using DTM I want to overwrite the s.pagename when a URL Parameter Name 'name' exists.

Currently (existing Omniture implementation), when this page loads, the s.pagename is set to "Search"

However, I want to use DTM to set s.pagename = "search results"

SO---I created a pageload rule:

1. Condition: URL Parameter Name 'name', URL Parmameter Value (regex) ".+"

2. Adobe Analytics: Set Page Name to "search results"  

***using the debugger, I see in the console that the rule fires*** 

NOTE: When I uncheck "Adobe Analytics page code is already present", the s.pagename is recorded correctly according to the page load rule ("search results"). However, when it's checked, the s.pagename is still "Search". My DTM Rule is overwritten.

Im new to DTM, however, I'm wondering what I'm doing wrong. Here is a sample URL:

http://directory.designnews.com/live/list.jsp?name=+linemaster+switch&SugName=+linemaster+switch&Com...

Thank you in advance.smiley

4 Replies

Employee

The issue is how the "Adobe Analytics Page Code is already present" works.  When selected DTM will not activate any of the page load rules, as you discovered.  The assumption is that you already have page code on the site and that is handling the analytics.  This option does NOT run any sort of detection to see if it can find your code first and then execute if it is not already there.

Level 2

Rudi Shumpert wrote...

The issue is how the "Adobe Analytics Page Code is already present" works.  When selected DTM will not activate any of the page load rules, as you discovered.  The assumption is that you already have page code on the site and that is handling the analytics.  This option does NOT run any sort of detection to see if it can find your code first and then execute if it is not already there.

Got it.