Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Why is Subform flowing into text below?

Level 2

Hi!  I am a newbie ready to tear my hair out. Is anyone able to help me with subforms?  I'm trying to create a dynamic form that has multiple text boxes that must be flowable, yet not overlap the text below it.  I wrapped the text field and its text box in subform.

First of all, why does the wrapping keep going away? I see the little yellow icon with exclamation point in the upper right corner of each box, but when I right click on the text box, it says "wrap in subform" after I just did it a minute ago? Is there a simple way to know which fields are already subforms?

I went to the Object Palette for each text box and I have the following settings:

Subform: flowed

flow direction: top to bottom

Allow page breaks within content

I did that for each text box below. When I preview it and test it, I enter quite a bit of text in the first box. I move my cursor to the next text box field, and the text I just entered flows over the next box? I've tried everything and it doesn't help! The 2 nd box doesn't move down to accomodate the text in the previous box.

How do I upload this form so that you can perhaps see what I'm doing wrong?

Lastly, maybe I'm wasting my time with this form software package?  Once the form is created, will the user be able to do a spell check for the data they just entered?

Any assistance will be greatly appreciated?

7 Replies

Level 4

I can think of a few possibilities... the most likely in my mind is that you forgot to set all containing subform elements to flowed

as well. That includes the page 1 subform.

If that's not it, also check to ensure that you have saved the form as dynaimc instead of static.. let me know if that fixes it for you.

- Scott

Level 4