Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Script questions on required fields

Level 2

I am an absolute newbie to scripting, so I do a lot of copying and pasting and editing from online. Here is my problem: I am creating a license application form in LiveCycle Designer ES 8.2 (the free one with Acrobat Professional 9). I have about a dozen or so fields (basic demographic info) that I made required on the form (this I did through the Object>Value>User Entered-Required palette). I have a checkbox that the licensees would check if they are operating at more than one facility. I "figured out" how to do this (read: Google searched and copy and pasted), and I know it's working because when they check the box the border around the text field turns red indicating a required field. If the required fields are not filled in, I want a message to pop up when they try to Print telling them that they need to fill out the required fields. I "figured out" how to do this, but the script required me to individually list each field that is required. How do I achieve this error message, taking into account the text field that may or may not be required based on if they checked the checkbox or not?

Thanks in advance,

Scott

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Former Community Member

You can execute all of the validations on a form with a single command and it wil return a true if one of the validations fails or a false if there are no validation errors. So on the button that the user clicks (it needs to be a regular button) you could write code like this on the click event:

if (form1.execValidate() == false){

app.alert("You have not filled out all of the required fields....")

} else {

put your print command here......

}

This assumes that your root node in the form is form1 (look at the top level node in the hierarchy view).

Hope that helps

Paul

View solution in original post

5 Replies

Level 10