Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

populating a drop down list based on a check box value

Level 3

Okay I know a way around this but its rather long with what I know. I have been working on a better solution for a day now. So maybe (or probably) someone knows a better way. I am trying to populate a drop down box based on a user selection is in a list of check boxes. I know I could create several drop down lists and hide them until the user changes the binding value. But the drop down lists would consume lots of space on my design form in liveCycle. So is there another way or am I stuck doing it the long way. I also need to assign values to those items as they change because the values are being used as item numbers later on which populate a text/number field later on in the form as a materials list.

Tell me if I am wrong please (I am new to all of this)

in the check box on click event

if(this.rawValue == 1)

{

dropDownList1.addItem("item # 1","value1111");

dropDownList1.addItem("item # 2", "value2222");

}

else

{

dropDownList1.rawValue = "null";

}

I am sure null is not right and I am sure I would have to set the drop down list to clear items on preOpen. Or maybe not. And there is a way to add items without adding a new line right? Am i on the right path?

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi,

Rather than having the script in each of the checkboxes, you can have script in the preOpen event of the dropdown that looks back at the checkboxes.

I have uploaded a sample here: https://acrobat.com/#d=VwREjsMgvqXpVqPu54kSNw

Have a look at the preOpen event of the dropdown.

// clear the dropdown displayed value and items

this.rawValue = null;

this.clearItems();

// repopulate the items based on the checkboxes

if(fruit.rawValue == 1)

{

this.addItem("Apples", "fruit_001");

this.addItem("Pears", "fruit_002");

this.addItem("Oranges", "fruit_003");

this.addItem("Bananas", "fruit_004");

this.addItem("Grapes", "fruit_005");

}