Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

populate existing livecycle pdf

Former Community Member

I am trying to research information about filling a livecycle form programmatically

I am just a beginner and feeling overwhelmed by the information

The facts:

- I have an existing Livecycle pdf created in Livecycle designer ES 9.0.

- This form was created by a different company and therefore cannot be changed (however it is a public form and permission has been granted to use it)

- This form uses three components to gather data: text fields, drop down menu's, and checkboxes

- This form uses a "Validate" button to verify user input is complete and it does some basic error checking (ex: no numbers in a field that requires only alphabetical text)

- After the Validate button is pressed, 5 X PDF417 barcodes are generated at the bottom (I assume so the company can scan the barcode for data entry into their systems)

- If i complete this form and extract the xml, I am given an xml file which shows the field names and user input values.

- If I re-open the blank form and import this xml file, the form becomes populated with the user inputs.

Here is what I want to do:

I want to create a webpage where users enter their information onto fields on my webpage.

When finished they click submit on the webpage and the Livecycle PDF form is filled out automatically.

I would like the "Validate" button to be pressed as well but I imagine the end user will still click this button to generate the 5 barcodes.

The important part: The process of importing the user data (possibly contained in an xml file) must be done automatically. I do not want users to be presented with a blank document and insturcted to click Forms->Input XML. If the barcodes can be generated automatically then that is icing on the cake!