Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Populate a form based on a selection on drop down list

Former Community Member

I’m new to livecycle currently using designer es2 version 9. I do have acrobat 9 standard as well.

I’m trying to create a form that has few fields. For testing I’m only testing with two fields. Emname and Empno.
I have a table named Performview in sql and I have already created a odbc connector in dsn.
I also created a dataconnection in livecycle form with default name “dataconnection”

I have made binding to the two fields empno and emname on the forms to the respective fields in performview table.
I have a dropdownlist  named selectfield.

I want to be able to drop down(on the selectfield list) and select the empno and populate the two fields empno and emname.
I have a button and I want the populating of the fields to happen when that’s pressed.
When I open the form, I see the form filled with the first record from the table so the two fields in the form emname and empno have the first record.

I have two issue, first the dropdown list does not have any data when I view the form.
2nd Since there is no data on the drop down list to test it with no data i hit the refresh button  I get "error accessor selectfield.rawvalue unknown".

I event tried to use a textfield(which I prefer to use instead of dropdown as the form user can just put the empno and hit the button, but I wasn’t sure how to do intialize for textfield. When I tried to use the text field and on the code modified instead of selectfield.rawvalue to the textfieldname.rawvalue I still had the same issue. so I stuck with the dropdown as I saw example for it on how to set up intialize. I even tried an example in adobelivecycle designer 7 that has sample with purchase.mdb I get the same "error accessor selectfield.rawvalue unknown".

so here is the code for both dropdown intialize and button click