Expand my Community achievements bar.

Odd double updates

Level 1

Hi there!

I'm pretty new with AFCS and I'm trying to create something for moving images together.

Simple as that I use a SharedCollection but when updating or adding new pictures something unwanted happens. The updated X and Y coordinates, which are set with

sharedModel.addItem({X:x, Y:y, ID:id, SOURCEID:sourceid});

at once, are received as two update commands, with the first only changing the X value and the second with the complete X and Y change.

Doesn't matter you might think, but the problem for me is, that i move the Images with a move effect, so the moving behaviour is pretty edgy, moving first to the new X position and then finally to the target position.

Can anyone explain me the double updates and how do i suppress them? Or are there only workarounds? (I'd hate, to filter the updates ....)

Thanks already,

Jonas

5 Replies

Employee

Hi,

Just a few alternative,

1) Instead of sending X& Y seperately can you send a Point object. (remember to register the class using MessageItem.registerBodyClass(Point) )

2) As you are just updating just the X&Y values you can use sharedProperty instead of SharedCollection

3) Please explore SharedCursorPane and might suit you better.

Thanks

Arun

Former Community Member

Hi Jonas,

I'm pretty baffled as to why (or how!) it would take only one value of an untyped object and send it by itself. We don't process your message body before sending (except to AMF3 serialize them, if you registerBodyClass them, not the case here).

Care to share some more code? Any other place where you're adding or removing to that SharedCollection? Are you seeing this every single time you send, or while subscribing to the collection the first time?

Thanks for the feedback, I'm curious to get to the bottom of it.

nigel

Level 1

Hi again!

Thanks for the replies first!

Well, I found the solution myself after tracing the update routine a bit.