Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Mimimum/Maximum Check and Specific Value check in textfield

Former Community Member

Hi All,

I'm doing a validation before printing. What I'm trying to do is to validate if the JobCard field has a numerical length less than or more than 12, alert user but it wont alert. Second validation is that once it has verified that the number length = 12 then check if the number entered starts with 5300100 or 5300200 then pint, for doing this I don't know what code to use.

This is the only code I could work out on my own:

if (this.resolveNode("JobCard").value < 12 || this.resolveNode("JobCard").value > 12){

xfa.host.message("Invalid Value")

}

Sorry but I'm not a programmer. I have set the JobCard field as float (so when number is entered it wont use a coma separator if more than 4 numbers) and not integer.

Also is there a way to not show the Print Cancelled dialog box that shows automatically when print is cancelled.

Thank You

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Former Community Member

convert int to string and use the length method.

var a = this.rawValue; //value from numeric field

var newValueLength = a.toString().length; // converting int to String using toString() method

app.alert(newValueLength); // printing the length of string

Hope this helps.

Thanks

View solution in original post

7 Replies

Former Community Member

Hope the langauge selected is "FormCalc"

Try using:

if (this.resolveNode("JobCard").value < 12 || this.resolveNode("JobCard").value > 12)

{

xfa.host.messageBox("Invalid Value");

}

Thanks

Former Community Member

HI Sir,

Thanks, I meant it wont alert as it wont validate and alert, in rush I typed wrong code for messagebox.

What I'm looking for is is the code that will be used to check if the length of the numbers entered is 12 or not, like .value or .length or anything else but both of them dont work

Sorry and Thank You

Correct answer by
Former Community Member